Week 10

  • How do these research methods differ from other research methods you are familiar with?
    • I thought that these research methods would be vastly different than a lot of the evidence based practice I am used to. For the most part, it seemed to be more of a combination of current methodologies than anything completely newfangled. They were definitely more qualitative in their approach than really strict and measureable.
  • Do you think all of these methods are fully “decolonized” – why or why not?
    • I don’t think all of the methods are fully decolonized. I don’t think they could ever be. As long as we’re using the same language to examine them, we’re continuing to pull from the same mindset no matter how hard something new is trying to be created. In one of the articles they were talking about indigenous heuristic action research needed to meet or exceed a level of sophistication to be passed off as scholarly. Here is a great example of an attempt to indigenize while using the same colonized metric. To me, it just doesn’t work. We will never know what a fully decolonized method is because even if there were one, if there was any iota of an overlap (which there would inevitably be because we are measuring similar things) it would be discounted as not fully decolonized.
  • Do any of these methods resonate more with you than others?
    • I really liked the Hawaiian ways of communication including talking story and observation. For another class of ours, we had to conduct an interview recently. Since I interviewed someone I knew, it was very much a talk story session that was laid back and relaxed. When I was taking notes of my reactions to the interview, I criticized myself for it being too unstructured, having a good rapport with the interviewee, and letting the conversation organically unfold. If I were to look at this design through an indigenous perspective, I could’ve considered this to be a really great study!
    • The going native approach didn’t speak too well to me. I just feel like there’s something false about it. The author brought up a good counterpoint that going native can “maintain the façade that our position does not, or should not, matter.” Of course it matters! We are human beings, not robots. It is very difficult to separate our experiences from others’. There was another good point I read countering this issue. It spoke to the benefits of studying across gender/race/other lines because we ask more questions and for more explanations rather than making assumptions.
  • How might your identity as native or non-native impact your research with indigenous groups?
    • There was a huge kernel of truth in one of the readings. It said that no matter who you are, you need to re-examine yourself and your biases. We cannot assume that just because someone is a minority that they are subject to “biases, prejudices, and oppressive actions.” So whether I am native or not, I should be critically thinking and adjusting the way I approach research.

 

3 thoughts on “Week 10

  1. Your statement ” As long as we’re using the same language to examine them, we’re continuing to pull from the same mindset …” struck me here. You put it quite succinctly and it is as simple as that. The theories and viewpoints of these various authors at times are beyond my mere mortal status and I struggle to not misinterpret the message. But as you state here, as long as we continue to insist on using the same methods, language, terms, etc. the attitude of science/academia is not going to change. It perpetuates the notion of superiority, exclusiveness and that big brother attitude that “we know best”. Further, you state that the “going native approach” rings false and I have to agree with you. While I do also believe that it assumes “the façade that our position does not, or should not, matter.” and that such an attitude is absolutely the wrong position to start off with in the first instance if you are trying to establish an honest and trusting relationship, I do not think going native is entirely possible anyway. We are all human, as you stated, with different experiences that has molded our consciousness and how we perceive ourselves in our own environments so it is impossible to truly appreciate the perceptions of others in their unique settings. This is where the “talking story” approach is most beneficial because through extended dialogue and interaction, we can learn WHAT questions we SHOULD be asking and HOW to appropriately ask them. It should all be so simple, right? Thank you as always for your meaningful insight that indeed helps me through this process of dissemination.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the thoughtful post! I agree that very few research methods will ever be fully decolonized and I don’t know if it should be. For one of my other classes, I had to write an argumentative paper about approaches to diversity, either multiculturalism or melting pot. If I had to choose one, it would be melting pot, I think there is benefit to exchange of information. Colonialism does not usually equal fairness in exchange.

    I also liked your last section about constantly examining and reexamining our own bias. Self-awareness can be an ugly process but it usually leads to greater strength in my opinion. Thanks as always! Mike

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would have to agree with your arguments. Research may never be fully decolonized, but we have to remember that some of the methods talked about were completely unacceptable as research not too long ago. I sometimes think about how indigenous people might have done “research”. Probably wasn’t just simple trial and error. There was likely thought and probability built into their thought processes. So, maybe there are things about research that are somewhat universal?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

