Week 7

  • Meyer quotes many other kumu and practitioners in her article – were there any quotes that resonated with you and why?
  • How can you be happy in your experiences when others are unhappy? (Gladys Brandt, 27 March 1997) talking about relationships and knowledge: Notions of Self Through Other
    • This quote reminded me on the how interconnected we are as humans and especially made me think in terms of decolonization. The thought that we can be pleased with an outcome and yet someone suffers from it is terrible and yet, it happens all of the time.
  • What differences did you notice between how Meyer speaks (in her video last week) and how she writes?  Was one of them more impactful to you and why?
  • Naturally, spoken dialogue and the written word will differ. A piece of writing can be edited over and over again. Although she was very well rehearsed in the video, it’s not something that can she can go back and edit like she could with her paper. Nor should she! Her video was a little more colloquial while her written essay was a lot more descriptive and used “big kid” words. I loved how we would adlib in her video presentation because that I how I could tell she was speaking from her heart. It is hard to say which I found to be more impactful because I cannot separate the words from the format in which I received it. I’d say I learn better from visual stimulus but I enjoyed the text just as much.
  • What do you think about the seven principles of indigenous worldviews?  Do you think anything needs to be added to that list? Is your academic worldview mostly informed by western or native worldviews?  Why is that?  Do you think it can and should change?
  • I am combining these two questions because I don’t think I can answer the first without addressing the latter. My favorite of the seven are there are many truths and that the relationship between people and the spiritual world is important. These two challenge my Western mind the most. In a world (the Western one, that is) with so much empirical data and where evidence based practice is the gold standard, accepting more than one truth seems mind-boggling and yet it is a reality for many. Even on a small scale, I like to remind myself of this whenever I see my peers disagree on things like parenting styles or spiritual beliefs. One of my best friends is Christian and although I am not, we get along great because we both respect that there can be multiple ideologies co-existing in the world.
  • I have a hard time imagining what I would put on this list. I think this mostly comes from having been programmed academically in the West. I would say my general worldview is influenced by both native and Western views but my schooling has not wavered much. I think it could change but if it’s just academically-speaking, I don’t know if it should change. I think there are a lot of native ways to learn that don’t involve academia.
  • How will you share the new knowledge that you gain through this course?
  • Above all, I just plan on walking the talk and doing it in a quiet way. I always tell myself that the more I am okay with something in my life, the less I need others to be okay with it. Meaning, when I am secure in my beliefs system and how I operate, I don’t feel the need to spread it like wildfire. I just enjoy leading by example.

 

Speaking of other ways of knowing… This is a photo of me from my kindergarten yearbook. I was caught daydreaming, of course.

5 thoughts on “Week 7

  1. Hi Lauren,
    Thank you for your post. I really like the picture you shared..so cute.

    I really like your commitment to leading by example. I think that’s such a powerful way to share with one another. I know for myself that when I see a person living comfortably and happily in the world they’ve created for themselves I am drawn to that authenticity and feel attracted to it. Being able to walk your talk is not always easy – especially in regards to the topic of decolonization. I know it will be a life long journey for me to remain aware of unconscious biases, privilege, and ways in which I might be perpetuating the perspective of dominant culture. I believe it will require constant checking and frequent stumbles off the path. I like your focus on self as the source of change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Sandra, your last few comments resonated with me. I like how you described being secure with your belief system and knowledge. It’s nice to hear that perspective, as you know, I am more of a wildfire spreader (Well… in the right circles.) Leading by example seems to be a solid method for teaching a concept like decolonization since it is a concept that may not be well received by the majority.

    A slightly serendipitous moment occurred when I read your comment on religion. Early today I was listening to a video of Kimo Alameda discussing living with a Buddhist roommate. After years together he moved out and he asked his roommate “why did you never try to convert me?” The roommate responded, “My job, as a Buddhist, is to help you be the best Catholic that you can be.” This tolerance for other people’s spiritual beliefs is what will bring peace to our world. Thanks for reaffirming that thought for me today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Lauren,
    Your interpretation of that quote was so simplistic yet so enormous in terms of decolonization. It seems to be the case in all aspects of our society and now in our global community. Especially in the economic forum – there is always a group(s) happy about the results and there is always a group(s) who suffer the consequences/effects. The term “collateral damage” comes to mind. While you cannot make everyone happy, there should be an effort not to purposefully make others suffer, especially when it comes to livelihood, quality of life and culture. When I ponder kupuna Brandtʻs remarks, I think of this adage on an individual and personal level, as well.
    You discuss the “many truths and that the relationship between people and the spiritual world is important” and how that challenges your Western way of thinking. Empirical data and evidence based practice is the standard of measure and while it can be difficult to accept more than one truth, I think it can help to see it as measures of observation and hypotheses. Scientific method does not prove a hypothesis, it only dismisses the null hypothesis because there are always alternatives. You are correct as a social scientist to consider other “truths” and alternatives/ideologies; that is neither Western or “other”. There is only so much we can bring to the table as the so called expert; the rest is open to discussion and best practices for our clients as individuals with unique experiences. Your philosophy of being open to other ideas and avoiding judgment is admirable and reflective or your strong ethical characteristics. These, and your belief in leading by example, may be your best strengths to effect change around you and on behalf of your clients.
    Thank you for your sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the quote your chose, because it reminds me too of the interconnectedness of human relations. There is no justice until there is justice everywhere! I also like the idea of multiple truths. I talk about this a lot in my non-violence lectures. None of us can know absolute truth in this vast universe of possibilities within this speck of time and place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

